Amazing how time flies… this interview was meant to be posted last week, but things (life) just got in the way. So here it is. Stitch would like you to meet children’s author Douglas Quinn:
Douglas Quinn with Gracie -- Editing The Midnigh Skulker

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I really didn’t just decide to become an author. It evolved out of a family history/genealogy project my dad and I worked on. We had so much interesting information and family stories to share, my dad and I decided to organize it all into something we could publish and share with others who were researching the same family. I love family stories. Once finished with the first two family history books, I began thinking about writing fiction. Naturally, my first novel idea came from another family story, an “almost” happening involving my children and a trip to Spain.
As for an impact on my life, it has become all consuming. I live to write.

Awesome reason to live.

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
As I mentioned, the idea for my first novel, a suspense/thriller titled The Catalan Gambit, came from an “almost” happening. Students, my boy and girl twins included, from the school system had signed up for a chaperoned trip to Spain. At that time, airplane hijackings had become a popular sport for terrorists. Because of this, the trip was cancelled. I began to think, what would happen if they’d gone on the trip and their plane was hijacked. As a father, what would I, what could I do to save them? My “tag” line was “How far would a father go to save his children.” I followed up with two more books in what I called The Ellis Family Saga.
I enjoy mysteries, so for my Webb Sawyer Mysteries, I set these stories in the Outer Banks and Albemarle Sound areas of northeast North Carolina (USA) where I live. As they say, “write what you know,” and I love and know this area and its people quite well.
For my Ancestry Series, I went back to the research done on my ancestors and, using the facts and stories my dad and I had collected to create a historical fiction/adventure-based novel of the original emigrant ancestor’s life. I just completed book two of the series based on his son. Books three and four are in the queue.
When my two youngest grandsons asked me, why don’t you write children’s books (with them as the heroes, of course), I indulged them. It was easy to write in “their voice” as I used to have lunch in the school cafeteria with them and their friends once a week, where I opened discussions, listened and observed.. Now I have three different series going.
My newest series, Little Books for Little Readers (written, illustrated and marketed for ages 4-6), are based on experience with our four-legged kids, our cats and dogs.

Dogs make the best characters. As an interesting note Beagles and Labradors seem to make great friends!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it.
Boy! Not sure where to start, because I work on several book projects at a time, one for each of my genres. I’ll give a brief answer for each one of them.
I am currently writing my fourth Webb Sawyer Mystery. Each of the titles for this series have birds in the titles: Blue Heron Marsh, Pelican Point, Swan’s Landing and the latest, Egret’s Cove. In Egret’s Cove, my protagonist, Webb Sawyer, drives from his home at Blue Heron Marsh in Nags Head on the Outer Banks of North Carolina, to go fishing with his long-time grade-school friend who lives on Ocracoke Island. When he arrives she is nowhere to be found. Evidence indicates she’s been kidnapped. But how? And why? And where is she? And is she all right? There is no ransom note and Webb is frantic to find his friend before it’s too late.
I just finished the second book of my Ancestry Series, Samuel The Pioneer. Samuel is the son of Cornelius The Orphan. As I mentioned before, these historical fiction/adventure novels are based on my own ancestors.
I have two more Children’s Chapter Book Series (for ages 8-12) that are completed and are in the editing process. One, The Adventures of Quinn Higgins: Boy Detective—The Case of the Gray Ghost’s Belt Buckle is the sixth Quinn Higgins book. The other one, The Adventures of Summer McPhee of Ocracoke Island—The Pink Lady is the third Summer McPhee book. I am also am over halfway finished (it will probably be completed when this interview runs) the third book in my Purple Dragon Fantasy Series, Charles and Hero—The Dreadmen. As I mentioned, I wrote these at the request of grandchildren, but now my readers motivate me to continue on with them.
And, finally, I’ve completed my second Little Book for Little Readers titled Solstice the Determined Beagle—Long Way Home. This book is now with my illustrator, who is doing pen-and-ink drawings for the text chapters. This story comes from the time Solstice (now deceased) got lost in a storm ten miles from home and, over ten days, found her way back home.

Wonderful a to do list that looks like mine… too many things to do!

What are your future aspirations as an author?<
When people ask me what I do for fun, I tell them I write. “Writing seems like hard work,” they say. The hard work is the editing process. The writing, for me, is not only fun, but fulfilling. It gives me a sense of accomplishment to tell stories and share them with others. This, and a dedication to my characters, will keep me writing until, one day, I keel over, my fingers still on the keyboard. If I have the premonition, maybe I will quickly type in (to be continued by the next person).

Ha that’s a good idea. You are right editing is the hard part – see my other blog for some tips:http://ghostnapped.wordpress.com/

What do you do to improve yourself as a writer?
I read, I research, I do crossword puzzles, I listen, I observe, I talk to people, ask questions, discuss ideas, but most of all I write, write, write, write . . . .

Where can people contact you?
My website is http://www.obxwriter.webs.com, where you can find a listing of all of my books, novels and children’s book, included. Please feel free to join up and/or contact me through the site with your questions, comments, what you thought about my books, etc. I answer all queries.

Tell us a little about your next work/s in progress.
I always have several projects in progress. Readers, even other writers, ask me how is that possible. How can I concentrate on more than one book at a time. My answer is, I really don’t know. I think I’ve been gifted with the ability to compartmentalize information, work on it, store it, bring up something else, moving from one project to another without confusion. Holy-moley, I sound like a computer.
Right now I’m only writing two books, Egret’s Cove: a Webb Sawyer Mystery and Charles and Hero–The Dreadmen. I’m also reading and researching for four other books. So many stories to tell, never enough time.

We wish the best of luck with all your projects.

Do you read the reviews of your work and how do they affect your writing?
I always read the reviews of my work. Fortunately, the vase majority of them have been very positive. Reviewers bring their own likes, dislikes and prejudices to their assessment. One reviewer loves the detail and the descriptions of the settings and characters, another one says there is too much detail. Another reviewer feels the need to point out a misplaced a comma on page 212. Another one may claim there were inconsistencies with the capitalization of the word “mother,” even though they were incorrect and didn’t understand the rules. In the end, it doesn’t matter. Readers don’t really care about niggling and nitpicking. They want to know if the reviewer believes that story, the setting and the characters will grab them. Here’s my thought: If you get an unfavorable review, or the review has aspects that you dislike or don’t agree with, let it go. I’d rather have a review that I wasn’t pleased with than be ignored.

I always figure if they took the time to review your work there is something worth while!

Stitch Says has had the privilege of reading four of Douglas’ books and will be posting reviews over the coming week or two (that thing called life may get in the way!). So watch out for them. Thanks for joining us Douglas and remember keep reading, keep writing!

