Today we get to meet Adam Wallace or Wally as we know him! Let’s find out more about Wally and his work:

Adam Wallace profile pic

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
Wow, well, my definitive actual decision (after enjoying writing in high School but then writing nothing but birthday cards for ten years!) came when I was 27. It has had a huge impact on my life … not quite as huge as this afternoon when my thumb got smashed by a very turned on rotating ceiling fan, but huge just the same! I was doing engineering, and while it was good money, and I made great friends, it never felt right. I knew that I wanted to work with children in some capacity, and after trialling a few avenues, writing seemed to be present and what I was drawing to in all of them and was where I felt most comfortable. So deciding to become an author allowed me to find me, the creative me that was always lurking inside me.

It’s awesome when things fall into place – creativity is like that sometimes!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
My latest work is called Jamie Brown is NOT Rich. The motivation was twofold. First was that I was asked by Ford Street Publishing to write and illustrate a chapter book … so that was the motivation for the format! The genre came from a love of fish-out-of-water stories, especially Happy Gilmore and many of Bill Peet’s books. I love the scenarios it throws up, and how the skills and personality traits that make someone an outcast can be what actually endears them to the new situations, and enables them to come out on top. A fish-out-of-water story also gives many, many chances for awesome comedy as well! I wrote this story to really entertain kids, to make them laugh at the same time as having the underlying messages of acceptance, fitting in, bullying, friendship, and wealth.

The Two Jamie Covers

What are your future aspirations as an author?
I want to become the best-selling children’s author from Australia. I like to set my goals high! I have other goals, such as releasing a minimum of one new book every year, of learning as I write, of not being afraid to ask for advice, of not being afraid of rejection or criticism, and of being true to myself and my style of writing. I will never write something that isn’t me, that doesn’t make me feel joy while I am writing it.

Wonderful aspirations and a fantastic attitude that will ensure success!

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
My ideas come from everywhere! I have written novels based on a single line from a song. I have written poems after seeing a kangaroo eating grass. I have written a short story after my wife did a HUGE burp at Chadstone Shopping Centre … oh. I may have said too much.
Moving on, very quickly, my writing is also influenced by my family. My grandmother was a children’s author, and my dad, while not published, is a very funny writer as well. But I am also influenced by TV shows and films I watch, books I read, and people I meet. Kids are an especially great source of inspiration, they say the funniest things!

Kids are the best material makers, along with dogs of course!

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
I write. Every single day. The more you write, the better you will become. I also like to get a grounding in techniques by reading books and interviews by and for authors. The more techniques you have in your sub-concious, the easier it is to be creative without worrying about the other stuff. Besides, that’s what editing is for!
I watch videos on creativity and inspiration, and I read my work out loud so that I can hear the flow and rhythm of it. I am also now at a stage where I can sort of just about handle critiques of my work, so am able to let others read it and give me an opinion I can ignore … I mean, take on board and consider!

Opinions of others are always important!

Where can people contact you?
The best place is my website http://www.adam-wallace-books.com
The site also has videos, chapters of my books, reviews, interviews, and even a little bit about me.
I’m also on Facebook (www.facebook.com/wallysbooks)

What works best for you when writing? Meaning do you outline or write freely when you feel inspired to do so?
I write every day, as I mentioned, but the time is pretty fluid. I do always try and write in the morning, so that I know I have done something. There is nothing worse than getting to the afternoon, wanting to write something for the day, and feeling pressure to do so. If I write in the morning and feel inspiration later on, well, that’s a bonus and lets me get even more done.
In terms of actually writing, I am very free-flowing. I write very much in a stream of consciousness style, getting everything I can out on to the page. It’s like someone said, I think it was Michaelangelo on the statue of David. You chip away what isn’t a man, and what’s left is the statue. If I get everything out on the page, then I can chip away everything that isn’t my story.

A good technique – clearly you know what works best for you!


For other authors who may be struggling what advice can you on handling rejection?

Keep going. Just because something isn’t rejected doesn’t mean it isn’t good … at the same time though, don’t let your writer’s pride get in the way of improving a story. But you have to keep writing, get your writing as good as it can possibly be. I had over 150 rejections over 7 years before I was accepted by a publisher, and I know that by that time I was writing a lot better. The other reason to keep writing is that when you are picked up by a publisher, they will often ask what else you have. If you’ve been writing and writing and honing your craft, you will have other works to show them. And who knows, it could be the start of something big!

Excellent advice!

Thanks Adam (Wally) for stopping by here at Stitch Says! It was wonderful to meet you. To all you readers check out Adam’s work and keep reading, keep writing!

