Today we get to chat with first time children’s author Keren Yadid. Let’s find out about her writing!!!

Keren2

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I think I was playing with the idea of writing since I was a little girl. I even started a few unfinished novels as a teenager… The idea came back now because I feel as a mother of a 6 years old I encounter many situations and challenges that are shared by many parents. Since I began writing again I find myself seeing a story in many things that happen .

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
My latest book is also my first. My daughter went through the age of being afraid to stay alone in the dark, and dealing with that gave me the motivation to sit and write the story about Mia, who is also afraid of the dark, and how she learned to overcome it.

Kids often provide us with the best material and motivation!

What are your future aspirations as an author?
First of all, I am planning to go on writing many children’s books (I hope). In addition, I’ve started working with friends on writing books in other areas of interest (self help, training design). I also plan to work on cookbooks with my mother and grandmother, with are both fabulous cooks!

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
I get help! I use professionals to help polish the writing and edit if needed.
I give the book to a few friends to read and review before it is out, and invite them to help me learn and grow by giving me feedback. And – I keep on reading a LOT of books, to help me crystallize better the kind of writer I aspire to be.

Always good to get a few opinions first, although that can be the scary bit too!

What are the names of your books?
As of now, only Mia’s Quest for Courage .

Where can people contact you?
On Face Book: Keren Yadid. I’ve only opened the account a few weeks back, because of the book

Do you read the reviews of your work and how do they affect your writing?
I read all the reviews, more than once, and try to learn what I can about what worked well and what needs improvement.

Stitch Says will post a review of Mia’s Quest for Courage tomorrow. Until then keep reading, keep writing!

