Today we get to chat with Gia Volterrs de Saulnier, the author of Journey to Jazzland. Let’s see what she has to say:
Gia headshot for J2J
When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I actually wrote this book for a class in 1999 at Bunker Hill Community College – the book has been sitting on my shelf for 13 years before I had the guts to send it off to a small publisher (after I got rejected so many years ago) and they said YES. I’ve been extremely lucky to get published, even if it is with a smaller publisher, they have been nothing but supportive of this endeavour and I find that it’s been impacting children and bringing the idea of music back to kids!

Awesome effort, sometimes it’s that first step that is the hardest!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
My book is called “Journey to Jazzland” – it’s about a Flute named Windy who gets bored in Orchestra one day and wants to learn more about jazz. I was a jazz flute player that started out in College (University of Lowell, now University of Massachusetts Lowell) – the story is basically about me, since the head of Woodwinds informed me that flutes don’t play jazz. I was out to set him wrong, and boy did I prove that point and well.

As an ex try hard Saxophone and clarinet player I must say flutes play pretty cool jazz!

What are your future aspirations as an author?
I’m hoping eventually to do a series, but I wanted to see how this book did first since I’m such a new author and an unknown one at that. I think the book is doing rather well and has gone global! I’m thinking “Journey to Dixieland” and possibly “Boogie on Down to Bluestown” are good titles in my head to work with.

Sounds like fun!

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
I am first and foremost a musician. I’ve been a performer pretty much my whole life. I suppose I took that to another level when I wrote this book (that I never thought was going to be published, and here I am). I think nature, kids, music, life itself has so many opportunities to be written about. It’s just what folks are craving to read is the issue. What do people want to read? I think there are a lot of fantastic writers out there, and others, well, they do try, but sometimes their writing is just well, not so great…

Life experience is certainly important for a writer.

What do you do to improve yourself as a writer?
To improve myself, well, I suppose eating better and exercising helps. I’ve been walking around a beautiful lake once a week and so far I’ve lost some weight. As for my writing, well, I’m still new to that, but I do like to get grammar techniques corrected. I found that LiveJournal (http://www.livejournal.com ) helped with that a lot!

What are the names of your books?
“Journey to Jazzland”

Did you publish with a traditional publishing house or did you go the indie route?
I went to a very small publisher in Indiana so I guess that is considered Indie route 😀

Do you read the reviews of your work and how do they affect your writing?
Yes, I do read them. I am curious to find out what people really think of my book. I hope that they enjoy it. I’m now just waiting for the shoe to drop on the other foot for that one review that will not make me feel so great, but I know that it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, not everyone loves jazz…I get that. But I’m trying to get kids to learn about music again and to bring back the idea of this great music history that we really shouldn’t forget. I’m also hoping that it brings back the idea of music back into Elementary schools again.

It’s always good to get constructive feedback. Stitch Says has read Journey to Jazzland and will be posting a review shortly, so watch this space. Thanks for dropping by Gia, love having different authors here.

As always keep reading, keep writing!

