An interview with a writing family, Dean, Brenda and Nathan Giles are the authors of The Snow Birthday! Let’s meet the family:
family

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I believe that I have had the spark of wanting to write a book since I became a book addict in my high school years. I simply put it to one side while I did all of the things that life required.
About a year ago, we found that we were sending a couple of children out on missions, and I had the idea that we could write a book as a way to show support for them. As a family we produced The Snow Birthday http://www.amazon.com/The-Snow-Birthday-Childrens-Friendship-ebook/dp/B00BWAP6SS/.
51jgJcj9oiL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-49,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

sb-cover-alt-2
It was a wonderful experience, and it was the one experience that let me know that we could do this book authoring stuff, and that I could do some of my own.

Writing as a family sounds like lots of fun!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
We came out with another children’s ebook done by a family collaboration called “Creeking”. Also, I’m a bit of a tech-head, and I wrote a how-to for using Google’s new Keyword Planner. Both were successes, and we are working on a few others right now.
My son Nathan has a science fiction/fantasy novel that has 13 chapters completed. It has really been an enjoyable family experience.

What are your future aspirations as an author?
I have a number of projects in the works. I am hoping to get together some of the best information that we have come across in our journey as authors, and create a course that we can teach locally. We have a number of friends who have seen our family books and have expressed interest in becoming authors themselves.

It’s great how many people are fascinated by becoming an author. It takes a lot of courage to actually do it!

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
My life revolves around my family. My inspiration comes from generations of family interaction, challenges, and wholesome recreation.

Family always provides the best material and inspiration!

What do you do to improve yourself as a writer?
I read every day. I read informational books that help me create and hone personal skills, but I also read fiction and entertainment every day. This helps me with creativity and knowing what topics are new and active.

What are the names of your books?
The Snow Birthday, Creeking: Summer Time Fun, Keyword Planner

What inspires you to write?
I love to write. I love stories, and I love helping people. It is a good convergence of likes.

Tell us a little bit about your next WIP
We have a few books in the works. We are working on another children’s book. We hope to be putting children’s books out every couple of months.

I’m working on a book about writing Indie books and I’m actually putting together a course that I plan on teaching locally. I have a number of friends and associates that have seen the books we have published and want to learn how.
My son has a science fiction/fantasy novel mostly done, and I have some short stories that I am looking for an Anthology to contribute to.

Sound like some fantastic plans.

Where can people contact you?
AustinsGift.com, dean@austinsgift.com, twitter: @deangiles3

Did you publish with a traditional publishing house or did you go the indie route?
Completely Indie!

and proud as you should be!

Do you read the reviews of your work and how do they affect your writing?
Yes, every one. I believe that everyone has different expectations. I have a lot of great reviews for my children’s books. The technical books have a wide range of reviews because people are technically at different levels and the information presented is too advanced for some and too basic for others. I have updated my book based on the reviews, but have also realized that there should be a second or third book for the same subjects—each targeting a different user base.

Excellent way to use the feedback.

What works best for you when writing? Meaning do you outline or write freely when you feel inspired to do so?
Both. I try really hard to create a structure, because I can write 2K to 5K in a day when I know where I’m going and it is well mapped out. While I’m writing, however, I sometimes see that I can’t follow the map exactly. Then I realize that things aren’t going exactly the way that I planned. That usually takes a lot more time and rewriting. But frankly, it takes both.

For other authors who may be struggling what advice can you give on handling rejection?
When I get poor reviews, I look for ways to improve, but I tell myself that the story wasn’t for that person. I look at John Locke, his first book had a LOT of 1 star reviews—but his first book was the sieve. Those that liked it, loved his next books and pushed him to 1 million books sold in 5 months.

Some excellent advice and a great positive attitude!

Thank you for dropping by on Stitch Says! Best of luck for your future aspirations. Plenty more interviews and reviews to come. Plus you never know who Stitch will meet next, could it be one of your characters??? To be involved with Stitch Says email me at Ashley@ahowland.org in the meantime keep reading, keep writing!

