Today Stitch Says has an interview with a difference! It’s a character interview and yes it is Labrador meets sock. Lets see how it turned out:

20130701_122255

Stitch ran through the house, his prize in his mouth. A brand new sock that had just appeared out of nowhere. Not a tooth mark in sight!
“Put me down,” yelled the sock
Stitch stopped, did the sock just speak? He dropped his prize and pounced on it.
“Ouch,” said the sock.
“Wow a talking sock?” said Stitch.
“Wow a talking Labrador,” replied the sock.

“Okay talking so tell me why shouldn’t I eat you?” asked Stitch
Yuck! We are made of fabric. Your tummy would get sick. And because I’m a talking sock! Heck, I have an adopted brother named Stitch! I love your name!
(He has yet to make an appearance, but we’re planning it.) Plus, your human will get mad if you eat me.

Stitch is a very cool name – although I was named after a blue monster not a sock. Besides you are clearly not my human’s sock, so I could eat you. Still I am rather full from that bone and you don’t taste very good!

As you don’t belong here you better tell me where you come from?
We come from many different places. We are made by humans in many shapes and colors. We eventually end up in the sock drawer. It’s where the humans put us to keep us away from the dog who loves to slobber all over us. Yuck.
The dog thinks we’re a toy.

Hey I’m a Labrador if I find it then it’s a toy!

Now answer me this is there really a place where lost socks hide? How do I find it?
Well, my dad likes to hang out in the drawer because it’s so warm in there. Sometimes he’ll cling up in the top so the humans don’t see him and he gets to take another ride in the dryer. The thing is, humans seem to think we get lost in the dryer. We don’t get lost. We time travel, but you can only do that during the spin cycle. When the washing machine is going around really, really fast, you can see this little tiny hole open up. It’s too big for the other clothes to fit through. If you’ve ever taken stuff out of the washing machine and found shirt sleeves all tangled up with pants and stuff, it’s because they were all trying to time travel
too.

Really time travelling clothes… Just as well I don’t have thumbs and never have to do the washing. I just help bring it in off the line!

So Mr time traveling sock tell me who is the most amazing person you have ever been worn by?
My brother, Stretch, met Abraham Lincoln. That was really exciting. He learned how wonderful a president Abraham Lincoln was, how much he really cared about all people, no matter who they were or where they came from. He said it was the most incredible journey. He also found out they didn’t have washing machines back in 1863. They washed us in a different way.

Mmmm I’ve heard about the old way of washing, bit like a bath. I could have helped a lot with the washing back then!

Where do you think you will end up next?
My brother, Sudsy, also got to know Benjamin Franklin. Oh, what a story he told us! It’s going to be in a another book! But, we do more than time travel. We learn to dance, we climb mountains, we hang out on a clothes line. We have so many exciting adventures.

Well I look forward to reading that. I guess I should put you back before someone here thinks you are a lost sock!

Stitch carefully dropped the sock back into the washing machine. It had been fun chatting with a sock. Stitch would be more careful next time he stole something.

That was a bit of fun. To find out more about Sock Kids:

The SockKids Meet Lincoln

About the Book

Title: The SockKids™ Meet Lincoln

Authors: Michael John Sullivan and Susan Petrone

Illustrator: SugarSnail

Publication Date: August 14, 2013

Publisher: Independent

Pages: 40 (print)

Recommended Age: 3 to 8

Summary (Amazon):

Where do our missing socks go? Readers find out in our children’s series, The SOCKKIDS. We follow the Socker family through many adventures; from encountering the slobbery mouth of the family dog to meeting Santa as he comes down the chimney on Christmas Eve to helping a fireman save a baby to the most shy Socker going to the school dance for the first time. Thanks to the time-travel opportunities afforded by the spin cycle of the washer, they learn about some of the most important humans in the world. Children two and up and their parents will be drawn to the diversity of the family and the universal and timeless lessons they teach: don’t be afraid of new experiences; treat others as you would like to be treated, and of course, beware of the spin cycle!

 

Stitch Says will post a review next week. In the mean time keep those socks away from your dogs. Oh and keep reading, keep writing!

