Stitch Says would like to introduce you to Kay Carter the author of Cedric the Shark gets a Toothache:

Kay Carter Author Central

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I was a bank manager for many years of my life and being made redundant in my 40’s pushed me into doing something I had had a lifelong passion to do. My life has completely changed. I now have no daily routine and write when the inspiration takes me. I feel renewed doing something that I thoroughly enjoy and feel a much happier person for it.

I am jealous of anyone who has no daily routine… dreaming!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
My latest work is a set of books for preschool children, presenting morals in a playful and entertaining way with rhyming text and colourful illustrations. Subjects cover the fear of first days at school, going to the dentist, learning to count and future books in progress include crossing the road and not talking to strangers.

They sound fantastic!

What are your future aspirations as an author?
My future aspirations include developing skills in the romance genre to include contemporary and historical romance.

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
My ideas for the children books always come from watching child development. The questions they ask, the mistakes they make and the frustrations they experience. All can be funny, inspirational and sometimes heartbreaking.

Children are great for material!

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
I read many novels in a wide variety of genres but pay close attention to what is going on in my own fields. Books are the classroom of life and I am never far away from one.

What are the names of your books?
My present work in Children books include:
Cedric The Shark Has His First Day At School
Learn To Count With Cedric The Shark
Cedric The Shark Get’s Toothache

Did you publish with a traditional publishing house or did you go the indie route?
I went the Indie route and self published. I spent time and money on educating myself how to format, create covers and market my books professionally and eventually created my own course on self publishing to help others.

That’s great, it certainly is a bit daunting the first time around!

Do you read the reviews of your work and how do they affect your writing?
Certainly I read reviews of my work. I think if a review has been given honestly it is very important. Feedback is always important to be able to improve and provide what the public is asking for. I have been fortunate enough to receive some glowing reviews and it always motivates you to write more.

Stitch Says will be posting a review of Cedric the Shark gets a Toothache tomorrow. In the meantime if you want to take a closer look at Kay’s work go to: AUTHOR: KAY CARTER – http://www.amazon.com/Kay-Carter/e/B00DUNQCVU

Until next time keep reading, keep writing!

