Today we get to meet children’s author Jenny Loveless. Jenny has written two beautiful children’s books, so lets see what she has to say:

IMG_2822

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
Writing a book has always crossed my mind, but never seriously enough to actually do it. I worked in Day care for years, and when my second child was born who is now 5, I began staying home. Since then I have been a stay at home mother to my three girls. I was always very happy doing it. I wanted to do it. But then one day I realized that I could do more than clean my house and take care of children, yet I wanted to do something that still related to children. When I decided to write a book, I didn’t think any further than that. I just wanted to write a book and see what happened. Second, third and fourth books weren’t even being considered yet.
Since then, I have written more books, and have made writing my full-time career. It has changed my life immensely. I now believe I can do anything I set my mind to, because I already have. Believe me, it was a struggle. It still is. I am still a stay at home mom with all the regular mom duties. I have to delegate my time well, which I still haven’t completely figured out yet. Being a mom is hard. Then adding all this extra work on top of it does stretch me out thin at times. But I am doing it. I have never had more faith in myself or been more proud than I am today.

Being a mum is one of the harder jobs, but I always believe having something else you love in your life makes you a better mother – that’s why I write!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
It’s interesting. My latest book was actually my first one written. It’s called Holly Horse and the Great Quest. First I’ll tell you how I came up with the idea.
One day I was at an ATM with my husband. He was complaining about all the money going out and not enough coming in. We had money in the bank. So I thought to myself, you know, everyone thinks the grass is greener on the other side. Then out of nowhere, an idea just fell into my lap. I told my husband I was going to write a book. He went along with it, but I have always been a bit of a dreamer. So in the back of his mind he was probably thinking, oh great, Jenny has another one of her hair brained ideas. If you knew me, you might think the same thing. But I did write the book.
It’s a story about a horse named Holly. She hears a rumour that the grass is greener on the other side. The other side of what, she wonders. So she sets out on a journey to find it. She crosses mountains, forests and a bridge. Her new friends, Ollie the owl, Gary the Goat and Mr. Tim Tortoise are all great character who help aid Holly in realizing just how much she loves her own home.

Good to hear another husband who just goes along with it – much easier!

What are your future aspirations as an author?
Honestly, this is where my dreaming comes into play. I would love to one day win the Pulitzer Prize. Yes, it’s a bit farfetched, but there is nothing wrong with dreaming. It got me this far. I have several books that I have written just waiting for an illustrator to bring them to life. I hope to one day have dozens of books and ebooks released.
Before I started writing I made a list of goals. A couple of those goals were to one day donate $100,000 to schools and libraries, and second, to do seminars and talks in high schools about believing in yourself and living out your dreams. I have a long way to go, but those are still on my to-do list.

Wow some big dreams there – hope you achieve them.

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
When I am writing a book, I get my ideas from my everyday life. Like for instance, when I was writing Holly Horse, I got stuck on something. I stopped writing and began cleaning my house. As I was cleaning up my daughters toys, I picked up her little toy goat and was about to put it away. That’s when I realized the little goat was the answer to my writing issue. I was didn’t know what kind of animal I wanted to use for my next character. Then I picked up that goat and Gary Goat came to life. I just use what I see. I believe that every tiny little thing that happens is happening because we are being told something. We just have to pay attention.

So cleaning up after the kids is useful – no one tell that to my two…

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
I listen to what others say and I change things in my books constantly. Many times, a writer will believe they are writing their masterpiece. But it will never become that masterpiece if we don’t get other people’s input. So I give my book to others to read and take what they say into serious consideration.
I do have to add this in because I think it’s important. I don’t go to church, but God and I have our own little understanding. He helps me when I write my books. When I get stuck, I thank him for what I have written so far and to please tell me what to write next. That’s what happened with Gary Goat. I got stuck. Then I asked God for help and began cleaning up my daughters toys. He was telling me something and I paid attention.

What are the names of your books?
The names of these books may change. But the next one is currently called, Tommy and the Magic trick. Eight year old Tommy wants to be a magician, but he’s having trouble with one of his magic tricks. His little sister can do the magic trick. Why can’t Tommy? He needs to believe that he can do it first.
The next one is The Championship Party. The Orioles little league team has lost nearly every game of the season. But coach is throwing them a championship party anyway. Why would he do that? Slowly, the team begins feeling like champions too. Will their next season be any better than the last?

They sound like fun.

What inspires you to write?
When I decided to write books, I didn’t want them to be just any books. I wanted to make sure that all of my children’s books had something special. My main goal with my stories is to use them to help teach children to believe in themselves and love who they are. Children inspire me to write. A book can be just a book. But every so often you will come across a book that stays with you. For me it’s The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. I love that book to this day.

Where can people contact you?
If anyone has any questions for me or would like to be updated on my upcoming books as they are released, they may visit and ‘like’ my Facebook page. They can send me a message from there. They may also visit my website and click the contact button. http://www.kickysprout.com/Books-for-Kids-Contact-Tracy-CA.html

What a fantastic interview – thanks for joining us Jenny. Stitch Says will be posting reviews for two of Jenny’s books this week, so watch this space. Until then – keep reading, keep writing!

