Today we get to char with Mary E. Kingsley the author of All the Pieces. Let’s hear what she has to say…

MaryEKingsley

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I’ve always wanted to write. My mother framed a story that I wrote when I was six years old about a little puppy that goes out to play, then comes in to have lunch. Hopefully I’ve learned some things about character and plot development since then because I’ve been working at it all these years. Aside from being a mom and having a rich family life, I have always wanted to write and am thrilled to live my dream day in and day out. After raising a family and being a full-time mom, it’s rewarding to have the ability to switch focus and write full-time.

Sounds like you started with the best character – a puppy, can’t go wrong really!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
Available exclusively on Amazon Kindle, All the Pieces is the story of love, grief and secrets hidden in a small, southern Appalachian community. I used my childhood experiences in rural Tennessee to capture the feel of a small town captivated by the frenzy of a missing young girl. The search for the runaway is paralleled by the revelation of secrets that span generations and culminates in a realization of a mystery that was long forgotten.
The inspiration All the Pieces was quite simple! I was looking for jelly one day in the refrigerator, and the line just popped into my head. “All I wanted was some jelly.” The story flowed from there. That tends to be the way a story begins for me; often a whole story will stem from just one word. I’ll have a sentence or a few words stuck in mind, and while I have no idea where it will lead, I know I need to pay attention to it. It’s almost like opening a door, and after sitting with my thoughts for a few days, I find out what is behind that door and the ideas just flow.

So nice when ideas flow.

What are your future aspirations as an author?
I hope to keep writing stories that people will enjoy reading, and be true to what I’m being prompted to create.

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
My place of origin, East Tennessee and the southern Appalachian region, has had a great influence on my stories. I’d have to say that my ideas come from anywhere and everywhere— from people I meet, from things I hear, observe and imagine.

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
The best way to improve as a writer is simply to keep doing it, and that is my goal. It can be difficult to be disciplined as a writer, but if you show up, and sit down each day to write, you’d be surprised what you can discover.

It can be very difficult to find the time and the motivation to just write. Well done!

Stitch Says has read All the Pieces and will be posting the review shortly. Until then keep reading, keep writing!

