Let’s meet Charlotte Bloomfield, author of Corridor of Doors and The Ghost Within:

TW1pic

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I have been writing stories since I was a child but didn’t start writing children’s books till about eight years ago and this was by accident, the story I was writing was a ghost story set in a hotel, but I didn’t realise until a few pages in that the main character had to be child. I think this was the moment when I knew I wanted to be a children’s author and I was going to do everything possible to make it happen.
Since having my first book published it has had a huge impact on my life, I’m not just mummy now, I’m Charlotte Bloomfield, children’s author who has other mum’s in the playground telling me they think I’m amazing and what an inspiration I am – I couldn’t be prouder.

It’s great to do something you and your kids are proud of – well done!

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
My latest book that has just been published is the story I mentioned above. It was the first children’s book I wrote, ‘Corridor of Doors’ and would have been published first however it was with another publisher at the time and as I’m quite an impatient person I decided I wasn’t just going to sit around and wait for it to be in print I would write another book and that’s what I did. But that wasn’t my only reason I don’t write because I want to be famous, well not completely, I write because I love it and I love to inspire others and share my love of books.
As I mentioned above that I never intended for ‘Corridor of Doors’ to be a children’s book but I did intend it to be a book about ghosts. I was staying in a hotel at the time where my husband was working and it was a very old hotel with creaky staircases and shadowy corridors, my imagination was running riot.
A mirror in Lizzie’s bedroom transports you into a corridor with lots of doors but also transports ghosts into Lizzie’s parent’s hotel from this corridor – it’s very spooky but not too scary as will appeal to younger readers.

It is spooky, but a good kind of spooky!

What are your future aspirations as an author?
I have made a decision to turn both my books into series and have already begun a sequel to ‘The Ghost Within’, this is primarily due to the feedback I have had from my readers but I also enjoyed writing both books with such passion that I owe it to my characters to keep them alive.

I look forward to reading the sequel!

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?

I say my ideas come from everything I have seen and touched in my life including old, spooky buildings and inspirational and historic towns with castles with dark pasts and creepy boarding schools.
Being a mum to two young and lively children have a great influence on my writing, I want to be a role model for them and inspire them to know that anything is possible if you put your mind to it and to encourage them to love reading as much as me.

I write for my kids too, they provide so much material!

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
I read a lot of really great books and write a lot. I also study the craft of Creative Writing which involve, workshops and group work and some very inspiring tutors.
I am just starting out and I have a lot to learn but I have a lot of inspirational people to learn from and that is everyone who has ever written a book.

Great attitude to improving yourself as an author… Stitch Says will post reviews for both Charlotte’s books next week. Watch this space!

Thanks Charlotte, was great to meet you. Remember everyone keep reading, keep writing!

