Today we get to chat with Thea Berg, the author of The Magic World of Sebella. Let’s hear what she has to say:
10cf6f121f4ce50399d2928f7d979065

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
In college I read, I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou and it changed my life. I knew I wanted to be a writer but life always got in the way. A couple of years ago I told myself, “It’s now or never.” I finally took the time to write my first children’s book.

Now or never – that’s a great piece of advice to all those aspiring writers out there.

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
When I was a kid I liked the book, The Worst Witch and the TV show Bewitched I have always wanted to write a story about a witch and her magical world.
The Magical World of Sebella is a fun adventure through a Magic Castle. In order to save the castle Sebella, a witch and her friends must capture ghosts, tame dragons and vanquish a villain. If they succeed they win the grand prize and meet the All-Powerful Magician.

Sounds like a lot of fun!

What are your future aspirations as an author?
I‘m writing a sequel for this series about the 24 hours before Halloween. But my goal has always been to get kids excited about reading.

I share that goal, it’s great when kids love reading. They get to experience so much more of the world and their own imaginations.

Where do your ideas come from?
All my ideas come from my crazy imagination.
What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
I think about story writing all the time, even when I a dozing off to sleep. I keep notepads everywhere. If I hear a great story, an interesting name or a funny line I write it down. I tell my friends if you tell me a something hilarious it could end up in a book one day.

Hahahaha, yes we should all come with that warning.

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
I read tons of books in the genre that I am writing for. I also joined writing groups online and in my community.

Online writing communities are great! Thanks for joining us here on Stitch Says. There will be a review of The Magic World Of Sebella posted next week. Until then keep reading, keep writing.

Remember to email me at ashley@ahowland.org if you would like to be a part of Stitch Says!

