VirginiaWright_55_2013_6

Let’s meet Virginia Wright:
VIRGINIA WRIGHT (b. 1958) in Belfast, Maine is a five-time author, illustrator, food and nature photographer, blogger, recipe developer, and self-appointed Queen of recipe adaptation. When she is not tending her organic herb garden, taking photographs, sifting through recipes, cooking, or spending time with her husband, she is doing what she loves doing most…writing!

Virginia Wright first became a published author in 1981 when she sold her first writing to a regional magazine in the state of Maine. She also had several of her writings published in an Anthology– Soundings, by the Poetry Fellowship of Maine. She has contributed opinion articles to many online websites as a freelance writer.

To find out more and connect with Virginia Wright go to:

Blog: http://www.virginiawright.com/blog
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/virginiabrownwright
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/virginia_wright
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Virginia-Wright/e/B003D2LLE6
Recipe blog: http://www.therecipeweekly.com

Bibliography:
The Christmas Secret
Crying Bear
The Princess and the Castle
The Prince and the Dragon
Buzzzzzzzz What Honeybees Do

The_Christmas_Secret_Cover_for_Kindle (1)

Showcasing: The Christmas Secret
Mikey loves everything about Christmas except one thing–deciding what gift he wants. As Christmas nears he frantically flips the pages of his mother’s department store catalogs, looking for a toy that he wants most. Turning to his best friend Charlie for ideas, he finally finds the answer. But will he get what he wants this year? The Christmas Secret is an inspiring Christmas story written in a tone reminiscent of Christmas past–recommend for children and adults alike!

Sounds like a lot of fun, we love Christmas!

So let’s find out more about Virginia and why she writes:
When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I do not believe I decided to become an author or not, it chose me. Writing is a part of me. When I was just a young girl I would sit with a pad and pen writing, my mother gave me a journal with a little lock and key, and I started writing in it and I have never stopped.
Writing has given me an outlet to do something I enjoy doing. It has also given me a chance to meet dozens of wonderful people in the writing world.

I think writing chooses lots of people, it’s great to have a calling…

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
My next project is a world away from non-fiction children’s fantasy writing. However, it is about a very important subject, a medical condition that mimics another. If left undiagnosed properly– could prove to be deadly in some. If discovered early, could mean a difference of life or death.

A tragedy in my family motivated me to write this book.

Sounds like a topic very close to your heart.

What are your future aspirations as an author?

This question made me laugh, Ashley. My future aspirations as an author would be a ‘household name!’

A good aspiration to have, we wish you luck!!!

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?

Being a Pre-K teacher for a private Christian school for a number of years truly helped give me ideas and inspiration in my writing. Nevertheless, so did living abroad and traveling, and living in several different states in the USA. Ideas for writing come anywhere from looking up to the sky and searching the clouds, to walking down a grocery store aisle, to being in a crowd or having a dream. They just come–inundated with new ideas constantly.

Teaching is a great source of material!

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?

To improve myself as a writer, continuously I do research to find out what readers want in a book. I check my visitor statistics of my web and blog. I read all my book reviews, trying to decipher what people liked and did not like. I listen to followers—as it is they, I write for. I write and write some more and write some more even when I think I have it down, I still check and write some more. I try to improve my stories as seen through the reader’s eyes.

I illustrate my own books, so that is another consideration. What one may interpret or like, another may not. However, I see improvements as I do illustrations; each book seems to get better!

Excellent to have an author who is constantly seeking improvement. What a great interview, thank you for taking part on Stitch Says!

