Today we get to meet Flemming Bermann, who has written two fantastic non fiction books for children. Let’see what he has to say:
FB image

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
The natural world has always been a major part of my life, and the growing body of scientific evidence suggesting that global warming is real and coming to a planet near you in the future, if humanity don’t start to live in a more sustainable way was a message I wanted to pass onto my daughter. Having completed a final draft of ‘Global Warming for young mind’ and seeing how much my daughter and family and friends learnt from it, I was encouraged to send it off to a publisher, who was happy to help publish it. The rest is history, as they say.
My second book “Evolution for Young Minds” was also written with my daughter in mind. So important for children to take an interest in and appreciate the beauty and complexity of the world around them, and evolution symbolises this more than any other natural process.

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
The Amazon Kindle platform and the rise of the eBook fascinate me. To better understand this new media, I will be publishing a puzzle book on Kindle in June this year.
The whole experience has been a real fascinating journey. From learning the more technical aspects of how to put a Kindle book together to purchasing my own ISBN numbers, and realising that I did not have to hundreds of dollars having someone else help me do the work.

What are your future aspirations as an author?
The world is not always what we first perceive it to be, and as we grow up we start to recalibrate our own views. For example, the way two people can observe the same event and come away with completely different opinions fascinate me.
Over the last three years I have been working on and off on a teenage novel, which centres around such observations, and my biggest aspiration right now is to complete it and get it published.

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
My daughter has been a major influence, and so has the natural world. Nothing that you can purchase for money can in my view compete with the free spectacle of the natural world. And helping someone else discover and appreciate the world around them is such a great thing to be able to do.

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
The short answer is: ‘Not enough!’ through I read a lot and always try to study how really successful authors construct their sentences, build their characters and create the atmosphere of their books. It is a real skill, and the only way to really improve is to write a little every day, which I try to do.

Thanks Flemming, it is so hard to take the time and improve yourself. Writing every day is a great way to do this.
Stitch Says will post the review of Flemming’s two non fiction books soon, watch this space! Until then keep reading, keep writing!

