Today we get to spend some time with Charlotte Kane the author of Tea Time Tales and Whisper!
526206_10151150335959447_1644646440_n
When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I have been writing for many years but it started off as writing fanfiction. Over the past few years this expanded into creating my own characters and worlds. The idea of becoming an author did not occur to me as, for most people, I had serious doubts about my writing but when the opportunity arose to have my work published I decided to go with it and to see what people thought about my work. I haven’t really experienced enough to see that is has an impact on my life but I am constantly asked at work for samples of what I am currently writing and being nagged to say when the next book is out

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:

My second book, Tea Time Tales, was published Dec 2012. My motivation again came from television shows as they are adapted from fanfictions that I wrote. The poetry however, came from when I was feeling down and unhappy with life and that is why they are more to the darker side of life
2 (2)
What are your future aspirations as an author?
To be honest I am not wishing to make this a career. I am happy in the job that I am currently in (although most days I won’t admit that). I wrote because I have stuff inside my head that is screaming to get out, not because I wish to make people happy, if they like my work great if not I am not stopping writing
ckcover10
Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
A lot of my ideas come from my own feelings from other the years. Some of my upcoming writing is based on comments and ideas from conservations and some ideas just happen to appear in my mind and I am unsure as to where they had come from

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
I try to read as much as possible and I have some great mates out there who read over certain parts and tell me what needs to be improved. I get confused with grammar and not making sentences long winded sometimes but my editor helps me with putting these right and shows me how to say a paragraph in a couple of lines if it’s not of an importance to the story.
270270_182519941810890_7409720_n

You can find out more about Charlotte and her books on her blog: http://charlottekane.wordpress.com/

Thank you for dropping by on Stitch Says! Best of luck for your future aspirations.

