STOP THE INSANITY - copyright owned by David Welch Today we have the opportunity to get to know David Welch, the author of Stop the Insanity Target 2014. Let’s see what he has to say:

When did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?
I guess that is a reasonable question for just about anyone who has written a book but oddly it isn’t exactly applicable in my case. I didn’t decide to become an author. I decided that the U.S. is headed towards a disaster because of the irresponsibility of our leaders in Washington and that I would try and do something about it. From that decision it naturally followed that I write a book to communicate my concerns and offer solutions to the problems I see. The impact on my life has been that I spent the last year planning and writing “Stop the Insanity Target 2014” and that I will spend the next two years trying to create a movement to effect change in our government.

Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:
Hmm, I think I covered the motivation part of this question in my answer to your first question. As for telling about “Stop the Insanity Target 2014” I will be happy to. To begin with I’m not even sure if it qualifies as a ‘book’ since I consider it as more of a political manifesto. In any event the book/manifesto begins by explaining the problem we have: A dysfunctional government where two political parties are so at odds with each other that nothing productive gets done and a great deal of important issues are left unresolved. I blame both parties for this mess and suggest that the most obvious solution is to elect enough Independent members to the House of Representatives so that they have the power and leverage to actually get things done. My idea is that we don’t have to elect a majority in the House to do this. That is crucial since with 435 seats in the House it would take at least 218 Independents to have a majority. The great news is that with just 30 or 40 Independent members it would be possible to play off the Democrats against the Republicans and accomplish a great deal of what needs to be done.
And once I get the ‘how’ out of the way I provide twelve specific ideas on what a powerful Independent bloc in the House might accomplish. Of course they would not likely implement all twelve but our country would be much better off if they could put seven or eight of the ideas into effect.

What are your future aspirations as an author?
As I said I am not really an ‘author.’ I consider myself an American citizen who is proud of his country but who is very concerned about the direction it is headed. I wrote my book/manifesto with the idea of changing things. After the last election it is clear that things are not going to improve without dramatic change and I feel even more strongly that the ideas I present in the book/manifesto can lead to the needed change. I am busy writing blogs for my webpage (www.stoptheinsanitytarget2014.com) in the hope of spreading my ideas and providing motivation for those who would join the movement. I am considering a second edition sometime later this year to add a few additional ideas for change and to include updated information on the progress being made.

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?
Despite a very bad start, I ended up with an excellent education. I went from being a high school dropout to being awarded a scholarship to Stanford, where I studied economics, and eventually obtaining an MBA from the University of Chicago and an MS in Taxation from Golden Gate University in San Francisco.
Then I had a most interesting business career mostly in finance, accounting and tax related positions including some ten years working overseas. This included two years as a Corporate Treasurer for Dowell Schlumberger based in London, two years as an International Tax Manager for Schlumberger Wireling based in Tokyo, and several years as the CEO of an educational software developer in Silicon Valley where we developed more than twenty multimedia programs for teaching English as a Second Language.
In recent years I have spent a year teaching English in Poland and two years teaching International Finance at a University in China. And for the last three years I have assisted my brother in a small mortgage modification business helping homeowners avoid forclosure. This has been extremely rewarding from an ‘accomplishment’ standpoint since we have helped save the homes of around 100 families.
So, with my education, work experience, teaching experience and tremendous exposure to different cultures and unique circumstances I feel I have a great deal of insight and workable ideas to help get our country on the right track.

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?
To be honest I’m pretty darn good at finding workable solutions to problems. I tend to think ‘outside the box’ and come up with ideas that are slightly different than the standard response to any given problem. I’ve always had this knack and so far my advancing years have not slowed my brain down one iota. However, my writing tends to be a bit bland and my punctuation seriously lacking. I do try to improve by making many revisions to my work but eventually I have to give it over to a well qualified editor who can put my ideas into much more interesting and effective language. My book/manifesto was throughtly edited and it shows. The blogs on my webpage are not edited so anyone who reads them will have to try a little harder to get the kernels of wisdom they most certainly contain.
David<
Webpage: http://www.stoptheinsanitytarget2014.com
Book title: Stop the Insanity Target 2014
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/StopTheInsanityTarget2014
Link to Amazon for book: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AC51L2E

Well David you certainly have a lot of passion for America. One thing Stitch Says loves is someone with passion for a cause! Thanks for stopping by on this blog and we wish you all the best!

David is currently holding a contest on his blog, you can enter at: http://www.stoptheinsanitytarget2014.com/win-a-kindle-fire/

Until next time keep reading, keep writing!

