Stitch Says would like to introduce you to Jan Clifton Watford, the author of Drabsville and Roland’s Stupendous Imagination and the Native Americans.

JanWhen did you decide to become an author and what impact has this had on your life?

I have always loved children’s picture books and read them with admiration to my children when they were young.  I feel that reading to a child is their first introduction to literature and very important to start their learning and education off on the right path.  I had always wanted to try to write a book myself.  When I was taking an art education course in college, one of the options for a project was to write a picture book that was educational and based on one of the elements of art.  I jumped at the chance to write my first book, Drabsville.  I received a good grade on the project and my professor encouraged me to see about getting it published.  When I retired a year and a half ago, I started going to workshops with SCBWI and decided to make revisions to the text and illustrations and my dream became a reality.  I published it in September of 2012 with Createspace.

 Tell us about your latest work and what motivated you to write it:

I have an additional book that I have finished and published.  This one is a historical fiction chapter eBook for young readers, Roland’s Stupendous Imagination and the Native Americans. It was conceived from my life long interest in Native Americans and their culture, and traditions. I also have a couple other books in the process of being created including one about Lucy the ladybug, and Pablo, the preying mantis and their adventures creating a bug garden.

What are your future aspirations as an author?

My aspirations are to have my stories, books advance further digitally into storybook apps, a field that I am very interested in.  I also want to further explore educational writings and stories for children.  I am very interested in creating stories/books that not only entertain but also educate.

Where do your ideas come from? What experiences or aspects of your life influence your writing?

My ideas come to me randomly but spurn from my love for young children.  Sometimes my ideas develop from seeing how my grandchildren or other young children respond to things that interest them.

What do you do to improve yourself and a writer?

I am a member of SCBWI and also a couple of critique groups, one of which is online.  I also attend workshops with SCBWI and writing and illustration courses online.  Exploring new books and storybook apps is also beneficial.

Thank you for dropping by on Stitch Says! Later in the week Stitch Says will post a review of Roland’s Stupendous Imagination and the Native Americans. Until then you can find out more about Jan and her books on her website:  http://www.jancwatford.com/books

http://www.Drabsville.com

http://www.RolandsStupendousImagination.com

Best of luck for your future aspirations.

As always keep reading, keep writing!

